Audio Archive

The Audio Award recognizes the overall excellence of audio in a game - including, but not limited to, sound effects, musical composition, sound design, orchestration, etc.


12th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2012)

Portal 2


  • Portal 2 (Valve)
    - Valve Team
  • Nominees

  • Bastion (Supergiant Games)
  • LittleBigPlanet 2 (Media Molecule)
  • The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (Bethesda Game Studios)
  • Dead Space 2 (Visceral Games)


    11th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2011)

    Red Dead Redemption


  • Red Dead Redemption (Rockstar San Diego)
    - Rockstar San Diego Team
  • Nominees

  • Limbo (Playdead)
  • Halo: Reach (Bungie)
  • Battlefield: Bad Company 2 (DICE)
  • Mass Effect 2 (BioWare)


    10th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2010)



  • Uncharted 2 (Naughty Dog)
    - Bruce Swanson, Phil Kovats
  • Nominees

  • Dragon Age: Origins (BioWare)
    - Simon Pressey, Jeremie Voillot, Michael Kent, Matt Besler, Rock Band
  • Rock Band: The Beatles (Harmonix)
    - Eric Brosius, Giles Martin, Paul Hicks, Josh Randall
  • Flower (thatgamecompany)
    - Vincent Diamante, Steve Johson, Jenova Chen, Martin Middleton
  • Brutal Legend (Double Fine Productions)
    - Emily Ridgway, Brian Min


    9th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2009)

    Dead Space Recipient
  • Dead Space (EA Redwood Shores)
    - Don Veca, Dave Feise, David Swenson, Andrew Lackey
  • Nominees

  • LittleBigPlanet (Media Molecule)
  • Metal Gear Solid 4 (Kojima Productions)
  • Left 4 Dead (Valve Software)
  • Gears of War 2 (Epic Games)


    8th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2008)

  • BioShock (2K Boston / 2K Australia / 2K Games)
    - Eric Brosius, Pat Balthrop, Emily Ridgway, Justin Mullins
  • Nominees

  • Call of Duty 4 (Infinity Ward / Activision)
    - Jason West, Grant Collier, Vince Zampella
  • Everyday Shooter (Queasy Games)
    - Jonathan Mak
  • God of War II (Sony Santa Monica / Sony Computer Entertainment)
    - David Murrant, Clint Bajakian, Chuck Doud, Phil Kovats
  • Mass Effect (Bioware / Microsoft Game Studios)
    - Steven Sim, Michael Kent, Jack Wall, Sam Hulick


    7th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2007)

  • Guitar Hero II (Harmonix Music Systems / RedOctane)
    - Jeff Allen, Eric Brosius, Izzy Maxwell
  • Nominees

    • Company of Heroes (Relic Entertainment / THQ)
      - Crispin Hands, John Johnson, Jennifer Lewis, John Tennant
    • DEFCON: Everybody Dies (Introversion Software)
      - Alistair Lindsay, Michael Maidment
    • Lara Croft Tomb Raider: Legend (Crystal Dynamics / Eidos Interactive)
      - Troels Folmann, Karl Gallagher, Mike Peaslee, Gregg Stephens
    • LocoRoco (Sony Computer Entertainment)
      - Kemmei Adachi, Tomonobu Kikuchi, Kouji Niikura, Nobuyuki Shimizu



    6th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2006)

  • Guitar Hero (Harmonix Music Systems / RedOctane)
    - Eric Brosius, Kasson Crooker
  • Nominees

  • Call of Duty 2 (Infinity Ward / Activision)
    - Mark Ganus
  • Electroplankton (Nintendo)
    - Toshio Iwai, Koichi Kyuma, Yuichi Ozaki
  • God of War (Sony Computer Entertainment America)
    - Brad Aldredge, Clint Bajakian, Chuck Doud, Dave Murrant
  • Project Gotham Racing 3 (Bizarre Creations / Microsoft Game Studios)
    - Nick Bygrave, Guy Whitmore, Nick Wiswell


    5th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2005)

  • Halo 2 (Bungie Software / Microsoft Game Studios)
    - C Paul Johnson, Marty O'Donnell, Jay Weinland
  • Nominees

  • Call of Duty: Finest Hour (Spark Unlimited / Activision)
    - Jack Grillo, Caleb Sweazy
  • Doom 3 (id Software / Activision)
    - Christian Antkow, John Carmack, Tim Willits
  • Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas (Rockstar North / Rockstar Games)
    - Craig Conner, Allan Walker
  • Katamari Damacy (Namco)
    - Yu Miyake


    4th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2004)

  • Chuck Russom for sound effects in CALL OF DUTY
  • Nominees

  • Koji Igarashi and Ms. Michiru Yamane for composition in CASTLEVANIA: LAMENT OF INNOCENCE
  • David Henry and Stan LePard for composition in CRIMSON SKIES: HIGH ROAD TO REVENGE
  • Laurent Betbeder, Paul Gorman, Howard Shore, Charles Stockley, and Don Veca for composition in THE LORD OF THE RINGS: RETURN OF THE KING
  • Christopher L. Clanin and Tim Larkin for sound design in URU: AGES BEYOND MYST


    3rd annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2003)

  • Jack Grillo, Rebecca Hanck, Erik Kraber and Yuan Liu for sound effects in MEDAL OF HONOR: ALLIED ASSAULT
  • Nominees

  • GTA Team for sound design in GRAND THEFT AUTO: VICE CITY
  • Takayuki Kawagoe, Hideki Naganuma and Fumitaka Shibata for sound design in JET SET RADIO FUTURE
  • Metroid Team for sound effects in METROID PRIME
  • Andrew Boyd, Chris Hegstrom, Robb Mills and Howard Shore for composition in THE LORD OF THE RINGS: THE TWO TOWERS


    2nd annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2002)

  • Marty O'Donnell & team for sound effects in HALO: COMBAT EVOLVED
  • Nominees

  • Erik Kraber & Jack Grillo for sound design in CLIVE BARKER'S UNDYING
  • Harry Gregson-Williams for composition in METAL GEAR SOLID 2: SONS OF LIBERTY
  • Josh Randall for sound design in FREQUENCY
  • Thomas Engel, Rudolf Stember & Chris Huelsbeck for sound engineering in STAR WARS ROGUE SQUADRON II: ROGUE LEADER


    1st annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2001)

  • Matt Uelmen, Jason Hayes, Glenn Stafford & Andrea Pessino for composition in DIABLO II
  • Nominees

  • Michael Sweet for music in BLIX
  • Fumitaka Shibata for music in SAMBE DE AMIGO
  • Naofumi Hataya & Kenichi Tokoi for music in SPACE CHANNEL 5
  • Kemal Amarasingham & Eric Brosius for sound effects in THIEF II: THE METAL AGE