Game Developers Choice Awards is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.


2nd Annual Game Developers Choice Awards

Honoring the Best Games of 2001


Nominees & Awards Recipients

Each award recipient is highlighted in yellow.


Three special honors, selected by the Game Developers Choice Awards advisory board, were also presented at the ceremony.


Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Yuji Naka - president and CEO of Sega's SONICTEAM, for the innovative and award-winning work he has produced during his career, including the creation of SEGA mascot, Sonic The Hedgehog(TM).


First Penguin Award

  • Hubert Chardot - for his risk-taking work on Alone in the Dark, a game that started the "survival-horror" genre.


IGDA Award for Community Contribution

  • Jeff Lander - for his writings on game development, community building efforts and student outreach.


Game of the Year

  • GRAND THEFT AUTO III (DMA Design/Rockstar Games)
  • BLACK & WHITE (Lionhead Studios)
  • HALO: COMBAT EVOLVED (Bungie Studios)
  • ICO (Sony Computer Entertainment, Inc.)
  • MAX PAYNE (Remedy Entertainment)


    Rookie Studio of the Year

  • Bohemia Interactive Studio for OPERATION FLASHPOINT
  • Adrenium Games for AZURIK: RISE OF PERATHIA
  • Croteam for SERIOUS SAM
  • Pseudo Interactive for CEL DAMAGE


    Original Game Character of the Year

  • Dante from DEVIL MAY CRY
  • Ico from ICO
  • Max Payne from MAX PAYNE


    Excellence in Audio

  • Marty O'Donnell & team for sound effects in HALO: COMBAT EVOLVED
  • Erik Kraber & Jack Grillo for sound design in CLIVE BARKER'S UNDYING
  • Harry Gregson-Williams for composition in METAL GEAR SOLID 2: SONS OF LIBERTY
  • Josh Randall for sound design in FREQUENCY
  • Thomas Engel, Rudolf Stember & Chris Huelsbeck for sound engineering in STAR WARS ROGUE SQUADRON II: ROGUE LEADER


    Excellence in Level Design

  • Fumito Ueda & team for level design in ICO
  • Craig Filshie, William Mills, Chris Rothwell & James Worrall for level design in GRAND THEFT AUTO III
  • Ghost Recon team for level design in TOM CLANCY'S GHOST RECON
  • Scott Campbell, Dave Jaffe, Kellan Hatch & team for level design in TWISTED METAL: BLACK
  • Toshihiro Nagoshi & team for level design in SUPER MONKEY BALL


    Excellence in Programming

  • Richard Evans for artificial intelligence in BLACK & WHITE
  • Akihiko Tan & team for physics in GRAN TURISMO 3 A-SPEC
  • Andy Gavin & Stephen White for programming in JAK & DAXTER: THE PRECURSOR LEGACY
  • Jason Jones & team for programming in HALO: COMBAT EVOLVED
  • Sherman Archibald, John Carmack & Ryan Feltrin for graphics in RETURN TO CASTLE WOLFENSTEIN


    Excellence in Game Design

  • GTA3 team for game play in GRAND THEFT AUTO III
  • Fumito Ueda & team for game design ICO
  • Lorne Lanning & Chris Ulm for story/writing in ODDWORLD: MUNCH'S ODDYSEE
  • Peter Molyneux & team for game design in BLACK & WHITE
  • Shigeru Miyamto & team for game design in PIKMIN


    Excellence in Visual Arts

  • Fumito Ueda & team for art direction in ICO
  • Greg Griffith, Bill Harper, John Kim, Jordan Pitchon, Bob Rafei, Josh Scherr & Rob Titus for animation in JAK & DAXTER: THE PRECURSOR LEGACY
  • Kazunori Yamauchi & team for modeling in GRAN TURISMO 3 A-SPEC
  • Lorne Lanning & Farzad Varahramyan for art direction in ODDWORLD: MUNCH'S ODDYSEE
  • Tetsuya Mizuguchi, Jun Kabayashi & team for art direction in REZ


    Game Innovation Spotlights

  • BLACK & WHITE (Lionhead Studios)
  • ICO (Sony Computer Entertainment, Inc.)
  • MAJESTIC (Electronic Arts)
  • REZ (United Game Artists)
  • CEL DAMAGE (Pseudo Interactive)
  • FREQUENCY (Harmonix Music Systems)
  • MAX PAYNE (Remedy Entertainment)
  • SUPER MONKEY BALL (Amusement Vision)



    Pictures are available in the Photos page.


    Press Releases