Game Developers Choice Awards is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Best Narrative Archive

The Best Narrative Award (formerly know as the Best Writing Award) recognizes the overall excellence of writing in a game - including, but not limited to, story, plot construction, dialogue, branching narratives, etc.



12th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2012)

Portal 2


Portal 2 (Valve)
- Valve Team


  • The Witcher 2 (CD Projekt RED)
  • Bastion (Supergiant Games)
  • Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception (Naughty Dog)
  • Saints Row: The Third (Volition)


    11th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2011)

    Mass Effect 2


    Mass Effect 2 (BioWare)
    - BioWare Mass Effect Team


  • Red Dead Redemption(Rockstar San Diego)
  • Heavy Rain (Quantic Dream)
  • Costume Quest (Double Fine)
  • Fallout: New Vegas (Obsidian)


    10th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2010)



    Uncharted 2 (Naughty Dog)
    - Amy Hennig, Neil Druckmann, Josh Scherr


  • Brutal Legend (Double Fine)
    - Tim Schafer
  • Batman: Arkham Asylum (Rocksteady Studios)
    - Paul Dini, Paul Crocker
  • Dragon Age: Origins (BioWare)
    - David Gaider, Luke Kristjanson, Sheryl Chee, Mary Kirby
  • Halo 3: ODST (Bungie)
    - Joseph Staten


    9th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2009)

    Fallout 3


  • Fallout 3 (Bethesda Game Studios)
    - Emil Pagliarulo
  • Nominees
  • Far Cry 2 (Ubisoft Montreal)
  • Braid (Number None)
  • Grand Theft Auto IV (Rockstar North)
  • Metal Gear Solid 4 (Kojima Productions)


    8th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2008)


  • BioShock (2K Boston/2K Australia / 2K Games)
    - Ken Levine, Emily Ridgway, Joe McDonagh, Susan O’Connor
  • Nominees
  • Portal (Valve)
    - Erik Wolpaw
  • God of War II (Sony Santa Monica / Sony Computer Entertainment)
    - Cory Barlog, James Barlog, Marianne Krawczyk
  • Mass Effect (Bioware / Microsoft Game Studios)
    - Drew Karpyshyn, Mac Walters, Patrick Weekes, Chris L'Etoile
  • Half-Life 2 Episode 2 (Valve)
    - Chet Faliszek, Marc Laidlaw


    7th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2007)

  • The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess (Nintendo EAD / Nintendo)
    - Kyogoku Aya, Nate Bihldorff, Mitsuhiro Takano
  • Nominees
  • Bully (Rockstar Vancouver / Rockstar Games)
    - Dan Houser, Jacob Krarup
  • Dreamfall: The Longest Journey (Funcom / Aspyr Media)
    - Dag Scheve, Ragnar Tørnquist
  • Sam & Max Episode 1: Culture Shock (Telltale Games / GameTap)
    - Brendan Ferguson, Dave Grossman, Steve Purcell
  • The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion (Bethesda Game Studios / 2K Games/Bethesda Softworks)
    - Ken Rolston


    6th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2006)

  • Psychonauts (Double Fine Productions / Majesco Entertainment Company)
    - Tim Schafer, Erik Wolpaw
  • Nominees
  • Freedom Force vs. The 3rd Reich (Irrational Games / Vivendi Universal Games)
    - Ken Levine
  • God of War (Sony Computer Entertainment America)
    - David Jaffe, Marianne Krawcyzk, Alex Stein
  • Indigo Prophecy (Quantic Dream / Atari)
    - David Cage
  • Jade Empire (BioWare Corp. / Microsoft Game Studios)
    - Drew Karpyshyn, Brian Kindregan, Luke Kristjanson, Mike Laidlaw, Peter Thomas, Mac Walters


    5th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2005)

  • Half-Life 2 (Valve Software / Vivendi Universal Games)
    - Marc Laidlaw
  • Nominees
  • Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas (Rockstar North / Rockstar Games)
    - Dan Houser, James Worrall
  • Leisure Suit Larry: Magna Cum Laude (High Voltage Software / Vivendi Universal Games)
    - Matt Entin, Ed Kuehnel, Eric Nofsinger
  • Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door (Intelligent Systems / Nintendo)
    - Nate Bihldorff, Ryota Kawade
  • Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic II: The Sith Lords (Obsidian Entertainment / LucasArts Entertainment)
    - Chris Avellone


    4th annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2004)

  • David Gaider, Drew Karpyshyn, Luke Kristjanson, and Peter Thomas for writing in STAR WARS: KNIGHTS OF THE OLD REPUBLIC
  • Nominees
  • Michel Ancel and Jacques Exertier for writing in BEYOND GOOD & EVIL
  • Charles Cecil, Steve Ince, Neil Richards, and Tony Warriner for writing in BROKEN SWORD: THE SLEEPING DRAGON
  • Sheldon Pacotti and Sarah Paetsch for writing in DEUS EX: INVISIBLE WAR
  • Takehiro Izushi for writing in FIRE EMBLEM


    3rd annual Game Developers Choice Awards (2003)

  • Clint Hocking and JT Petty for writing in TOM CLANCY'S SPLINTER CELL
  • Nominees
  • Denis Dyack and Ken McCulloch for writing in ETERNAL DARKNESS: SANITY'S REQUIEM
  • GTA Team for writing in GRAND THEFT AUTO: VICE CITY
  • Daniel Vavra for writing in MAFIA: THE CITY OF LOST HEAVEN
  • Craig Hubbard and Team for writing in NO ONE LIVES FOREVER 2: A SPY IN H.A.R.M.S. WAY

    Note: The Writing award was first presented in 2003.